Jolt Digital TV Antenna Amplifier

14 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

List Price:
$69.99
Price:
$29.99

Jolt Digital Antenna Amplifier

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 14 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2


8/28/13
Excellent reception! -
Review by
Doug
This product vastly improved our reception for channels that were previously pixelated due to interference. We own 2 Mohu Leafs.

I highly recommend this product and especially Mohu's customer service! They are great and always willing to help. Thanks again Lynda!
8/3/13
i get better reception without -
Review by
ron
no power indicater on AC Adapter so do not know if working or not
7/5/13
JOLT DIGITAL TV ANTENNA AMPLIFIER -
Review by
DON
I installed my Jolt in 5 minutes on July 3, 2013. This is a FABULOUS product!! It exceded all expectations. Using a high end digital antenna without the amplifier, my new internet ready Samsung TV located 27 channels. About a third of those were unwatchable with squiggly screens and at least one major broadcaster was completely missing. Some of the channels were just junk tv that I don't watch. WITH JOLT I NOW LOCATE 59 CHANNELS INCLUDING SOME MUSIC ONLY STATIONS.I GET ALL THE MAIN STATIONS AND ONLY A COUPLE OF THE 59 ARE SQUIGGLY. ALSO, THE COLOR IS MORE VIVID!! I had to readjust my color settings to tone down the colors due to the enhanced reception! The Jolt is magic in a match box size device!
4/15/13
From 0 to 65 -
Review by
M. Gerrish
We bought a new television for a bedroom to replace an early model LCD that heated up the whole room and buzzed, although the picture was excellent. That TV was hooked up to a Roku HD and a flat antenna propped in a window to receive over-the-air broadcasts from our local stations. It worked well except for the heat and buzzing issues. New, low-priced TV arrived and I was distressed to discover that for whatever reason, the new TV wouldn't pick up the broadcast stations. None. Not even pixelated. Nothing.

I don't know the mechanics of it, but I was almost resigned to the bedroom set being a Roku-only set (not the worst thing), when I remembered that this product had arrived and this was the occasion to try it.

Ran set-up again and immediately picked up 65 stations, including all the major networks in our area. Crystal clear. Works for us!
4/15/13
It works -
Review by
Scott
We live outside Denver's "official" broadcast area. When we decided to ditch satellite and go with broadcast TV, we had a hard time getting good reception on most of the channels (and couldn't get some of them at all). When we got a Mohu antenna, it was a total game changer. But we still have a couple of major channels that pixelate under some circumstances, so I was eager to try this Mohu amplifier.

So that we could judge if the amplifier helped or not, we did a channel scan without it and got 27 channels. We also took note that a couple of those pixelated very badly (low-powered stations; the major stations that sometimes pixelate were coming in okay today). Then we installed the Mohu Jolt and ran the channel scan again. This time we got 33 channels. This is clearly an improvement. And the channels that were pixelating now came in clear. Based on just these two points, I can say quite definitively that the Mohu Jolt works.

The Mohu antenna works so extremely well by itself, I don't think there was much room for improvement. So, for us, the Jolt wasn't terribly helpful (the extra stations it pulled in are stations we don't want, anyway). But someone who doesn't have a leaf antenna would probably see a much greater improvement.

I notice that Mohu now also sells a leaf antenna with a built-in amplifier. Since that doesn't cost much more than just this amplifier, if you don't already have a Mohu antenna, that would probably be the way to go.
4/15/13
Mohu has best technical customer support ever! -
Review by
A Dixon
Antennas are such a complex thing to shop because the exact same antenna will get different results in different places and on different days even sometimes! But what I have found consistently true is what great technical customer support you get from the Mohu CSRs! They really know their stuff! This Amplifier is to boost the original Leaf to the power of the Leaf Plus. If you already have the Leaf Plus, this amplifier is already built in and while in America we think more is always better, when it comes to sound waves, it is not. Too much sound waves creates interference and you will get poorer results. Who doesn't want the best audio and video quality possible? I suggest a call to the Mohu technical support to find out if this Mohu Jolt HDTV Antenna Amplifier is the right fit for you; if it is, I can not say strongly enough how well-made and high quality it is but what is most impressive is that you can get sophisticated technical support from English-speaking CSRs on the telephone that really know their stuff! Impressive! I recommend Mohu products including this one if it is the right fit for you.
4/15/13
Mohu Jolt HDTV Antenna Amplifier -
Review by
Ama
I have tried this on two TVs, each hooked up to a different type antenna. While it didn't help lock in any channels that were unavailable without it, it did clean up the signal on a few problematic channels on each set (different channels on each set due to antenna type and location). I left it installed on the TV we use the most, which is hooked up to a directional roof-top antenna. All the channels that I get come in clean now. The other TV I tested it on was connected to a leaf style antenna and a digital to analog signal converter. When connected between the antenna and converter, it also improved the reception of a couple problematic channels that were pixelated or only came in about half the time.
4/15/13
Added it to my Mohu Leaf and got a few more stations -
Review by
Rox
I like Mohu's product and like the Leaf, the jolt is a straight forward product that is easy to install. I love that you have the USB connector option (what I'm using) so I'm not using one of the few plugs in the TV room. The Jolt installs in minutes and only requires a re-programming of the digital channels.

I got about 10 more digital channels added to the lineup including ABC and (sometimes) NBC, but because of the area I live in, we don't have more options. I was hoping to get a few more local news channels since we don't have cable, and we did. However, the signal still comes and goes and some new channels aren't "sticking."

I like the product, and I think it would be a better fit for someone in an Urban area with lots of digital channel choices.
4/15/13
I can't believe it but it works -
Review by
Kha
We currently have 3 TV's in our house. All of them hook up to a small over the air antenna. We sometimes watch our local over the channels like KQED. But after trying three different antennas, none of them work as advertised. We would be able to get some channels sometimes but always seem to have problems. My mom watches our local ethnic channels but out of the 7 available we can only get 1 reliably with the antenna that we have. Anyway when hook the Mohu Jolt in I was very skeptical since my antenna already have a built-in amp. But after playing with it for a while I notice I'm getting most if not all of the local ethnic channels. WOW, it works ! If this keep up I have to two order two more for our other TV's. So far I'm very happy with it.
4/15/13
Has me taking a second look at the "Leaf", -
Review by
Lex
Ever since our household found Netflix, Hulu, etc. and "cut the cord", shopping antennas has been a minor obsession. We've found some doozies, including this beauty: Terk HDTVa Indoor Amplified High-Definition Antenna for Off-Air HDTV Reception. (Seriously, you have to look. It's a huge 1930s Sci Fi movie death ray, on top of our kitchen TV/computer setup!)

What we had not given so much thought, was amplification. And I guess we should have, in retrospect - the Mohu Jolt has opened my eyes, in that regard. I'm not going to say that it has magically delivered a bunch of new channels to our home, although obviously it has, for some. For us, what it HAS done is strengthened the signal appreciably for many stations (no more signal cutting out when someone shuts the door to the next room!), and made it possible for us to watch our (3) local PBS stations without anyone needing to stand on one foot like a flamingo while touching the left rabbit ear.

So yes, now I'm wondering what that ridiculous looking Mohu Leaf Paper-Thin Indoor HDTV Antenna - Made in USA might further do for our off-the-air reception. You know, if we can bring ourselves to relocate the death ray device.

Footnote for the technically disinclined: I tend to delegate hardware tasks of all sorts to my spousal unit, but set up the Jolt myself and it was easy peasy: unplug the antenna from the back of the monitor/TV, plug in the identical connection on the Jolt there, then plug the power supply into the TV's USB port (or the wall, via the included AC adaptor, if you don't have an available USB port on your set. Seriously, it took twice as long to write this paragraph as it did to set up the amplifier.

Weird and wonderful, to not be constantly, incrementally adjusting the antenna anymore.
add to cart

Items 1 to 10 of 14 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Jolt Digital TV Antenna Amplifier

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Rating